AccueilMunicipal AffairsMunicipal Council

Municipal Council

IMG_0285John Saywell, Mayor

The person who is elected as Mayor represents everybody in the municipality. The Mayor chairs Council meetings and works with the elected Councillors. The Mayor has the right to oversee, investigate and monitor municipal operations, thereby ensuring Council’s transparency for the community. The Mayor is the one who conveys any mandates assigned by the Council to the municipal administration, supervises the application of the by-laws and resolutions, and communicates any information deemed to be in the public interest.

The Mayor must be particularly vigilant about ensuring that the municipality’s revenues are collected and spent lawfully. The Mayor may serve on other democratic bodies, such as the MRC council.

The Mayor has veto power over Council decisions, and may refuse to approve decisions by withholding his signature. This veto power is suspensive, which means that it can be overturned if the absolute majority of Council members take a new vote in favour of the decision.

The Mayor may take part in the decision-making process during Council meetings, but is not required to vote. He or she may not take part in the discussion or vote if in conflict of interest. In an emergency situation that is threatens the life or health of the population or the integrity of municipal equipment, the Mayor may, on his or her own, authorize the expenditures and assign any contracts deemed necessary to remedy the situation.

The Councillors

In addition to attending the Municipal Council meetings and representing the community’s interests, councilors help make decisions. Barring a conflict of interest situation, councillors are required to vote. Outside of meetings, they have no power to make decisions on behalf of the municipality.

Councillors may be appointed to commissions or committees created by the Council. They can also be assigned specific files that they can review in greater depth in order to help inform Council’s decisions. Finally, they may be asked to serve as Deputy Mayor.

The Mayor is the chief executive officer, who chairs the Council meetings and works with the other members of Council.

IMG_0282Sébastien Gros, Councillor 4

AccueilAffaires municipalesConseil municipal

Conseil municipal

IMG_0285John Saywell, maire

La personne élue mairesse ou maire représente l’ensemble de la population de la municipalité. Elle préside les assemblées du conseil et travaille en collégialité avec les autres membres du conseil. Elle possède aussi le droit de surveillance, d’enquête et de contrôle sur le fonctionnement des services municipaux, assurant ainsi la transparence du conseil municipal pour la communauté. C’est aussi la mairesse ou le maire qui achemine les mandats confiés par le conseil à l’appareil administratif municipal, supervise l’application des règlements et des résolutions et communique toute information jugée d’intérêt public.

La mairesse ou le maire doit spécialement veiller à ce que les revenus de la municipalité soient perçus et dépensés suivant la loi. La mairesse ou le maire peut aussi participer à d’autres instances démocratiques, par exemple, au conseil de la MRC.

Mentionnons que la mairesse ou le maire peut exercer un droit de veto sur les décisions du conseil en refusant de les approuver et, par conséquent, de signer les documents relatifs à ces décisions. Ce droit de veto est suspensif, c’est-à-dire qu’il peut être renversé si la majorité absolue des membres du conseil adopte à nouveau la décision.

La mairesse ou le maire participe à la prise de décisions lors des assemblées du conseil, mais n’est pas obligé de voter. Elle ou il ne participe pas aux discussions ni au vote s’il est en conflit d’intérêt. Dans une situation d’urgence qui menace la vie ou la santé de la population ou l’intégrité des équipements municipaux, la mairesse ou le maire peut, de son propre chef, autoriser les dépenses et attribuer les contrats jugés nécessaires pour remédier à la situation.

Les conseillers

En plus d’assister aux assemblées du conseil et de faire valoir les intérêts de la communauté, le conseiller participe à la prise de décision. À moins d’une situation de conflit d’intérêts, le conseiller a l’obligation de voter. En dehors des assemblées, il n’a pas le pouvoir de prendre des décisions au nom de la municipalité.

Le conseiller peut être nommé à des commissions ou à des comités créés par le conseil. Il peut aussi se voir attribuer par le conseil des dossiers particuliers qu’il devra approfondir afin d’éclairer la prise de décision du conseil. Finalement il peut être appelé à devenir maire suppléant.